It is our honour to present the winners of this year’s Honorary Prize and Pedagogical Prize.

Honorary Prize: Gert Pettersson

Pedagogical prize: Luis Sarmiento Pico 

The motivations were as follows:

Honorary prize,

Gert has been an exceptional IT responsible at the Department of Geology, and his excellence in his role is unmatched. From helping students to supporting professors, Gert is the go-to person for all computer problems. But it’s not just his technical mastery that sets him apart; it’s his remarkable character and willingness to go above and beyond. With his dedication to helping and caring for the students whether it’s sheet music for Lucia or reprinting an entire thesis, Gert will help. As we honour Gert with this well-deserved recognition, let us not only praise his technical prowess and unwavering support but also celebrate the embodiment of compassion, selflessness, and dedication he represents. Gert, you are an inspiration to us all.

Pedagogical prize,

Luis possesses the ability to encourage students to do their best in a way that is unparalleled. He creates an engaging atmosphere during lectures that sparks curiosity and prompts the students to ask questions. Luis’s infectious enthusiasm for his subject matter is contagious, making the students eager to attend each session. What truly distinguishes Luis is his unwavering commitment to his students’ understanding. No matter how busy he may be, Luis always makes time to address their questions. His willingness to patiently explain concepts while juggling other responsibilities, demonstrates his dedication to the student’s academic growth. As we honour Luis with this well-deserved recognition, we want to celebrate the remarkable teacher he is. Luis’s dedication to his students has left an unforgettable mark on the educational journey of his students. It is with utmost gratitude and admiration that we acknowledge Luis’s precious contributions.

Written by President